Holy Cross Acceptance Rate: 17% vs 18% vs 75%
Sep 27, 202622 min read
A senior finishes her Holy Cross Early Decision I application on the evening of November 14, hits submit, and exhales. She missed something. Holy Cross also wanted her admissions interview completed by November 15, and none of the data-card pages she had been reading mentioned it. That gap is the whole problem with this search: the acceptance rate is the easy part, and the operational details that actually decide outcomes sit only on the college's own site.
So here is both. The real number, why five different numbers are circulating, and the Fall 2027 mechanics nobody else reproduces correctly.
Key takeaways
- College of the Holy Cross reported a 17% acceptance rate in each of its two most recent admissions cycles.
- Holy Cross's Early Decision admit rate hit 67.15% in a cycle when the overall rate was 21.10%.
- Holy Cross offers no Early Action; deadlines are ED I November 15, 2026 and ED II/RD January 15, 2027.
- An interview is required: due by November 15 for ED I, and by December 5 for ED II and Regular Decision.
- Families earning $100,000 or less with reasonable assets receive a full tuition grant at Holy Cross.
Holy Cross acceptance rate: the short answer
The College of the Holy Cross acceptance rate is in the high teens. Holy Cross reported admitting 17% of applicants in each of its two most recent cycles, according to Ivy Coach's Holy Cross admissions statistics. U.S. News lists 18% and College Board's BigFuture lists 18.43% from slightly older data. Plan against 17% to 18%.
That is the figure to build a strategy around. It puts Holy Cross at #18 in U.S. News's "Lowest Acceptance Rates" list among national liberal arts colleges in the 2026 edition, alongside a #27 overall ranking in that same category.
And it is roughly half of what the rate was five years ago, which is why so many pages are wrong.
Why you'll also see 18%, 18.4%, 18.9%, 21% and 34% online
Five numbers, five vintages. Nobody is lying; they are just reading different years of the same institution.
| Published rate | Source | What's going on |
|---|---|---|
| 17% | Ivy Coach, citing the college's two most recent cycles | Freshest reported figure |
| 18% | U.S. News, Niche | IPEDS/Common Data Set year prior |
| 18.43% | BigFuture (college-supplied) | Same era, unrounded |
| 18.9% | PrepScholar | Modeled dataset, older vintage |
| 21% / 21.10% | Kollegio, Ivy Coach's earlier trendline row | A cycle that is now several years stale |
| 34.2% | AcceptanceRate.com-style scraped cards | Fall 2020 entry, presented as current |
The fix is to always ask which entering class a rate describes. Every college publishes its own admissions data in a standardized document, and learning how to read a Common Data Set will let you settle these disputes yourself in about four minutes, for any school on your list.
Which Holy Cross are you actually looking at? (30-second triage)
- Jesuit, Worcester, Massachusetts, about 3,100 undergrads, hillside campus, Crusaders/Patriot League → College of the Holy Cross, high-teens acceptance rate. That is the school this page is about.
- Notre Dame, Indiana, small Catholic college next door to Notre Dame → Holy Cross College, roughly 75%.
- New Orleans, health sciences and nursing focus → University of Holy Cross, roughly 74%.
- New Orleans, boys, grades 5 to 12 → Holy Cross School, not a college at all.
Four schools called "Holy Cross": the disambiguation table
Four distinct institutions share the Holy Cross name, and their acceptance rates span more than 55 points. College of the Holy Cross (Worcester, MA) admits roughly 17% to 18%. Holy Cross College (Notre Dame, IN) admits about 75% per Niche. University of Holy Cross (New Orleans) admitted 73.7% in IPEDS 2024 data. Holy Cross School (New Orleans) is a K-12 school.
| Institution | Location | Type | Acceptance rate | Key deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| College of the Holy Cross | Worcester, MA | Private Jesuit liberal arts, founded 1843, ~3,127 undergrads (fall 2024, per U.S. News) | ~17–18% | ED I Nov 15; ED II and RD Jan 15 |
| Holy Cross College | Notre Dame, IN | Small private Catholic college | ~75% (Niche) | Early Action Nov 1; RD Feb 15 |
| University of Holy Cross | New Orleans, LA | Private Catholic, health sciences heavy | 73.7% (822 admits from 1,116 applicants, IPEDS 2024) | Rolling |
| Holy Cross School | New Orleans, LA | Catholic boys' school, grades 5–12 | Not a college | N/A |
The Louisiana number deserves a footnote. University of Holy Cross was reported near 99% in the prior IPEDS year, so its 73.7% looks like a genuine tightening rather than a data error. Small applicant pools swing hard year to year; at 1,116 applications, a few dozen decisions move the rate by points.
If you landed here searching "Holy Cross acceptance rate" and meant the Indiana or Louisiana school, the strategy sections below will not apply to you. Your bar is a solid transcript and a complete file, not a selective committee review.
The trendline: from roughly one in three to roughly one in six
A single acceptance rate tells you nothing about direction. Holy Cross's direction is steeply down, and it happened fast.
Ivy Coach's trendline documents a fall from 36.36% to 21.10% in a single cycle, a 15.26-point drop. That is not a gradual tightening. That is a structural break.
| Reported cycle / vintage | Applications | Acceptance rate | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fall 2020 entry | Not reported on card | 34.2% | Scraped IPEDS data cards |
| Pre-drop cycle (Ivy Coach trendline) | Not reported | 36.36% | Ivy Coach |
| Following cycle | Not reported | 21.10% | Ivy Coach, from the Common Data Set |
| Class of 2028 | 9,568 | ~18% | Collegedunia |
| Two most recent cycles (Classes of 2029, 2030) | 10,600+ for the Class of 2030 | 17% each | Ivy Coach |
| Five-year average | 9,175 | 22% | Ivy Coach |
The application-volume story
The rate did not fall because Holy Cross got pickier in any philosophical sense. It fell because the denominator exploded. Ivy Coach reports a record pool of more than 10,600 applications for the Class of 2030, against a five-year average of 9,175. The class size did not grow to match. Holy Cross enrolls roughly 750 to 800 first-years out of about 3,100 total undergrads, so extra volume flows straight into a lower percentage.
The Class of 2030 also came in from 48 states, 18 countries and 930 different high schools. That last figure is the one applicants should sit with: 930 high schools for a class of under 800 means the committee is not taking three or four students from your school. It is taking one, or none.
What the five-year average tells you that this year's rate doesn't
The 22% five-year average is the number to use when you are building a list in September 2026 and cannot know what the Class of 2031 pool will look like. Use 17% for expectations and 22% for the historical band. Either way, Holy Cross is a reach for almost everyone, which is a different conversation than Ivy League acceptance rates in the 3% to 8% range but still not a school you assume into.
Early Decision vs Regular Decision: where the real odds live
Holy Cross's Early Decision admit rate has run far above its overall rate. Ivy Coach cites a 67.15% ED admit rate from the same Common Data Set cycle in which the overall rate was 21.10%, and reports that well over half of ED applicants are admitted in a typical year. Applying ED is the single largest lever available to a Holy Cross applicant.
That gap, roughly 67% against roughly 21%, is the widest ED premium published for any college at this selectivity tier. It is also the number almost no aggregator page separates out.
Two honest caveats before you rearrange your senior fall around it.
First, the ED pool is self-selected. Students who commit bindingly in November tend to be the students who visited, interviewed well, wrote a specific essay, and were already a fit. Second, recruited athletes, QuestBridge Match finalists and legacy applicants concentrate in ED. The 67% reflects a pre-filtered pool, not a discount code.
What the ED skew implies about the Regular Decision pool
Here is arithmetic the data cards will not do for you. Holy Cross does not publish its ED applicant count, so the exact RD rate is unknown. But you can bound it. Take the five-year average pool of 9,175 and the published 21.10% overall rate, which implies about 1,936 admits, then vary how many of those applications arrived in ED at a 67.15% rate:
| If ED applications were… | ED admits | RD admits left | Implied RD rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 400 | ~269 | ~1,667 from ~8,775 | ~19.0% |
| 700 | ~470 | ~1,466 from ~8,475 | ~17.3% |
| 1,000 | ~672 | ~1,264 from ~8,175 | ~15.5% |
That table is illustrative arithmetic, not published data. The takeaway holds regardless of which row is closest: in a cycle where the headline rate was 21%, Regular Decision was meaningfully harder than 21%. Apply the same logic to a 17% headline rate and the RD path lands somewhere in the low-to-mid teens.
ED I (Nov 15) vs ED II (Jan 15)
Both are binding. Both require an interview. The differences are timing and pool composition.
- ED I closes November 15, 2026, decisions roll out from December into January, and this round absorbs the recruited-athlete and QuestBridge volume.
- ED II closes January 15, 2027, with notification on February 15, 2027. It is the round for students who got an unfavorable ED I result elsewhere, or whose fall grades needed to land first.
- Holy Cross does not publish a separate ED II admit rate. Applicants ask for it constantly on CollegeVine and College Confidential threads; it does not exist publicly. Assume ED II sits between the ED I rate and the RD rate.
One structural note: some ED applicants who are not admitted get deferred into the Regular Decision pool rather than denied outright. A defer is not a rejection, and it changes what you do next.
When binding ED is the wrong move
ED is a commitment to enroll at a published aid offer you cannot shop. Skip it if any of the following is true:
1. You need to compare packages across two or more meets-full-need schools. Learning to compare financial aid packages side by side is worth more than a rate premium if your family is on the margin.
2. You are not certain Holy Cross is your first choice. A 67% admit rate at a school you'd resent attending is a bad trade.
3. Your fall semester grades will materially improve your transcript. Then ED II or RD gives the committee a better file.
If you're weighing early rounds across several schools, the mechanics differ more than students expect; here's how early and priority deadlines actually change your odds.
Get feedback on your supplemental essays in real-time
Unive.ai helps you improve your writing with instant, personalized feedback on your essays.
Get startedFall 2027 (Class of 2031) deadlines, interviews and decision dates
For Fall 2027 entry, Holy Cross's deadlines are Early Decision I on November 15, 2026, and both Early Decision II and Regular Decision on January 15, 2027. Holy Cross offers no non-binding Early Action. An admissions interview is required, due by November 15 for ED I and by December 5 for ED II and Regular Decision.
| Item | ED I | ED II | Regular Decision |
|---|---|---|---|
| Application deadline | Nov 15, 2026 (a Sunday) | Jan 15, 2027 | Jan 15, 2027 |
| Interview completed by | Nov 15, 2026 | Dec 5, 2026 | Dec 5, 2026 |
| FAFSA + CSS Profile | Nov 15, 2026 | Jan 15, 2027 | Jan 15, 2027 |
| Decision released | Rolling, Dec–Jan | Feb 15, 2027 | Mid-to-late March 2027 |
| Binding? | Yes | Yes | No |
| Enrollment deposit | May 1, 2027 | May 1, 2027 | May 1, 2027 |
Separately, QuestBridge College Match finalists targeting Holy Cross work to a November 1 deadline.
There is no Early Action, and the interview is not optional
Two things trip up more Holy Cross applicants than anything else, and both live on the college's own How to Apply page rather than on any ranker.
Holyat Cross states explicitly that it offers no non-binding Early Action. If you want an early answer, the only path is binding. Students who have built a senior-fall plan around "apply EA everywhere in November" need to re-sort Holy Cross into either the ED bucket or the January bucket.
The interview is the bigger operational trap. Because the ED I interview must be completed by the application deadline, the practical deadline for ED I is not November 15. It is whenever the last usable interview slot before November 15 gets booked, which in practice means scheduling in September or early October. Holy Cross also does not offer off-campus alumni interviews to Early Decision applicants, so the ED conversation happens with the admissions office directly, on campus or virtually. ED II and RD applicants get until December 5, which is still nearly six weeks before the application itself is due.
Application fee and waivers
The application fee is $65, per BigFuture's college-supplied data card and Collegedunia's Fall 2027 guide. Kollegio's page lists $60, which appears to be an older figure; treat the college's own checkout page as final. Fee waivers are available, including through the Common App's fee-waiver question, NACAC waiver forms and counselor request, so the fee should never be the reason an application does not get filed.
Managing a three-round, interview-first application without a $20K consultant
Holyat Cross is a good test of whether your application system works, because it has more moving parts than most schools its size: a binding round with a same-day interview deadline, a second binding round, a required interview with round-specific timing, and two aid forms on the same clock.
That is exactly the kind of sequencing Unive's application roadmap is built to run. You tell it which round you're targeting, and it back-dates the real deadlines: interview booked by early October for ED I, CSS Profile started before the FAFSA opens, essay drafts finished before interview prep begins. Students using Unive report a 3.48x higher acceptance rate, and the platform handles essay grading, profile evaluation and scholarship matching in the same workspace. It is a paid subscription with a 7-day money-back guarantee, which is a different order of commitment than what private college consulting costs at $10,000 to $20,000 a cycle.
What it actually takes: GPA, rigor and test scores
Holy Cross has been test-optional since the class entering in fall 2006, which makes it one of the earliest adopters in American higher education, roughly 14 years ahead of the pandemic wave. That policy is the single biggest reason the published score ranges mislead people.
Middle-50% scores, and the caveat that matters
The most widely reported ranges for score submitters are SAT 1240–1410 and ACT 27–32, appearing identically on U.S. News, Niche and BigFuture. Kollegio lists a slightly higher 1250–1420 and 28–32. PrepScholar reports an average SAT of 1360 with a 25th percentile of 1270 and a 75th of 1415.
BigFuture flags the important caveat directly: at a test-optional college, those ranges describe only the students who chose to submit. Submitters self-select on strength. The real functional bar sits below 1240, and every year Holy Cross admits students who submitted nothing at all.
The decision rule for submitting scores
Not a vibe, a rule:
- 1330+ SAT or 30+ ACT: submit. You are at or above the midpoint of the submitter pool.
- Below 1240 SAT or below 27 ACT: withhold. The score will pull your file down relative to the submitters you're read against.
- 1240–1320 SAT or 27–29 ACT: it depends on the rest of the file. Withhold if your transcript already shows rigor and an upward trend. Submit if your curriculum is thin, your school's grading is unusual, or you're an international applicant whose transcript needs a common yardstick.
International applicants have a separate hurdle: Collegedunia lists English-proficiency thresholds of IELTS 7.0 or TOEFL 100. If your transcript uses a non-US scale, work out how to convert grades to the US GPA scale before you assess your own competitiveness, because a 3.5 on one national scale is not a 3.5 here.
GPA: why published figures range from 3.62 to 3.84
| Source | Reported GPA | What it actually is |
|---|---|---|
| PrepScholar | 3.84 average | Modeled from self-reported user data |
| Kollegio | ~3.80 | Programmatic data card |
| Admission AI | 3.75 | Programmatic data card |
| AcceptanceRate.com | 3.62–3.78 | Older IPEDS-era estimate range |
| Holy Cross | No recent published GPA | Ivy Coach notes the college has not released GPA data for recent cohorts, so class rank serves as the proxy |
Plan against the high end. A 3.8+ unweighted GPA in the most demanding curriculum your school offers is the planning target, and U.S. News rates GPA as "very important" in Holy Cross's evaluation, with class rank considered where the high school reports it. If your school does not rank, the committee reads rigor and trend instead.
Rigor beats raw average here. Five APs with a 3.8 reads stronger than a 4.0 with no honors track. That is true at most selective liberal arts colleges, and it is especially true at one reading 930 high schools a year with no ability to calibrate every grading culture.
See how your profile reads to an admissions officer
Unive's Profile Evaluator shows how your rigor, scores and activities stack up against a specific college, so you know where you stand before you apply.
Get startedThe affordability variable most acceptance-rate pages ignore
Cost is an admissions variable at Holy Cross, not just a post-admission one.
Holy Cross meets 100% of demonstrated financial need for all entering students, and offers a full tuition grant to families earning $100,000 or less with reasonable assets. That threshold is not a sliding scale marketing line; it is a stated policy, and it reframes the whole sticker-price conversation for a large slice of the applicant pool.
The gap between sticker and net is wide. Collegedunia lists 2026-27 tuition at $70,220. EduRank reports an average net price around $36,014 and average aid around $44,334. Roughly half the list price, on average, is not what families actually pay.
Two strategic implications:
1. Do not self-eliminate on price. A family at $95,000 of income looking at a $70,220 tuition line and quietly removing Holy Cross from the list is making a $70,000 mistake. Run the college's net price calculator before you cut it.
2. Understand need-awareness. Ivy Coach has written about Holy Cross's history of need-awareness disclosures in admissions. Meets-full-need and need-aware are compatible positions: the college funds admitted students fully, but ability to pay may factor into some admission decisions at the margins. If that describes your situation, the answer is not to hide it. It is to apply early enough, and broadly enough across need-blind and meets-need schools, that you are never dependent on one committee's margin call.
Building the application: a Holy Cross-specific plan
Fit signals a Jesuit liberal arts committee reads for
Holy Cross is small, mission-driven, and unusually specific about what it does. Two programs do the heaviest lifting in distinguishing it: Montserrat, the first-year residential seminar program that pairs a small academic cluster with a living community, and the Washington Semester, which places students in DC for a term of coursework and work. Pre-health and pre-law pipelines are a genuine strength and a genuine draw.
A committee reading 10,600 files is looking for evidence you know which college you applied to. Name Montserrat and say which cluster and why. Reference the service tradition in terms of something you have actually done, not "men and women for others" quoted back at them. If you're still deciding whether this kind of institution suits you at all, start with what a liberal arts college actually is and work backward from fit.
Recommendations, when letters are rated "very important"
U.S. News flags letters of recommendation as "very important" in Holy Cross's evaluation, which is a higher weighting than many schools assign. Practical consequences: ask in spring of junior year, not September of senior year. Pick teachers who saw you struggle and improve, not just the ones who gave you an A. Give each recommender a one-page brief with two or three specific moments they might have forgotten, because a letter with a concrete anecdote outperforms a glowing generic one every time.
Essays for a small, mission-driven committee
Small committees remember specificity and forget adjectives. The essays that work at Holy Cross tend to be narrow: one relationship, one shift in thinking, one failure examined honestly. Reading how admissions officers actually read essays will change your drafting more than another round of polishing will, and if you're still choosing a prompt, the seven Common App prompts broken down with real examples is the faster starting point.
Interview prep for a required interview
Because the interview is required, it is evaluative, not a formality. Prepare four things: why Holy Cross specifically (two named programs minimum), one academic idea you find genuinely interesting and can discuss for three minutes, one moment of real difficulty, and two questions for your interviewer that could not be answered by the website. Rehearse out loud. The difference between a rehearsed and unrehearsed answer to "why us" is audible in the first ten seconds.
Waitlisted or deferred
ED applicants deferred into RD and RD applicants waitlisted in late March both have the same next move: a short, specific letter of continued interest with new information. New grades, a new award, a new reason the fit is sharper than it was in November. Use a letter of continued interest template as scaffolding, then throw out anything that sounds like a form letter. Holy Cross's waitlist activity varies year to year with yield, so the letter is cheap insurance, not a guarantee.
Where Holy Cross should sit on your list
At 17% to 18%, Holy Cross is a reach for essentially every unhooked applicant, including ones with a 3.9 and a 1450. It becomes a target only in the ED round, for a student whose file is already in range and who genuinely wants it first.
U.S. News's 2026 edition places Holy Cross at #27 in National Liberal Arts Colleges and #18 in Lowest Acceptance Rates within that category. Its cross-admit set tends to include Colgate, Bucknell, Lafayette, Trinity, Fairfield, Providence and Boston College; Holy Cross's own Institutional Research office publishes an admissions overlap peer group if you want the official version. Check each of those schools' current Common Data Set rather than trusting a ranker card, because their rates have moved in the same direction over the same five years.
Who Holy Cross is the wrong fit for: students who want a large research university with graduate programs and huge major selection; students who want engineering as an undergraduate degree; students who want a city campus (Worcester is a mid-size city, and the campus sits on a hill apart from it); students who are indifferent to or uncomfortable with a Catholic, Jesuit institutional identity. None of those are flaws in the college. They are just reasons a specific applicant should spend their reach slot elsewhere. Building a balanced college list around fit, not prestige, is what keeps a high-teens school from becoming your only plan.
Turn the rate into a plan
The acceptance rate is a fact about the applicant pool. Your odds are a fact about your file. The distance between those two things is where the work happens.
Unive's Profile Evaluator scores your extracurricular record and transcript against admitted profiles at schools like Holy Cross and tells you which part of your application is dragging, which is usually not the part students assume. The Essay Grader gives paragraph-level feedback before a teacher ever sees the draft, the interview prep voice agent lets you rehearse a required Holy Cross interview out loud until "why us" stops sounding memorized, and scholarship matching runs against your profile while you work. When you want a human read, 1-on-1 mentoring with top-school graduates is built into the same workspace. It's a paid subscription, backed by a 7-day money-back guarantee, from a team that built this after going through top-school admissions themselves. If you want a diagnostic first, start by identifying the weakest part of your college application.
Holy Cross acceptance rate FAQ
Is Holy Cross hard to get into?
Yes. Holy Cross reported a 17% acceptance rate in each of its two most recent cycles, and U.S. News ranks it #18 for lowest acceptance rate among national liberal arts colleges in its 2026 edition. With a record pool of over 10,600 applications for the Class of 2030 and a first-year class under 800, it should be treated as a reach school for unhooked applicants.
Does Holy Cross have Early Action?
No. Holy Cross explicitly states it offers no non-binding Early Action. The only early options are binding: Early Decision I, due November 15, 2026, and Early Decision II, due January 15, 2027. Applicants who want a non-binding application must apply Regular Decision by January 15, 2027, with decisions released in mid-to-late March.
What's the Holy Cross ED2 acceptance rate?
Holy Cross does not publish a separate ED II admit rate, which is why the question recurs on CollegeVine and College Confidential every winter. What is published is a combined Early Decision admit rate of 67.15% in a cycle when the overall rate was 21.10%, per Ivy Coach. Assume ED II falls between the ED I rate and the Regular Decision rate.
Does Holy Cross require an interview?
Yes, and the timing is round-specific. Early Decision I applicants must complete their interview by November 15, the same day the application is due. Early Decision II and Regular Decision applicants must interview by December 5. Holy Cross does not offer off-campus alumni interviews to Early Decision applicants, so book with the admissions office weeks in advance.
Is Holy Cross test-optional for Fall 2027?
Yes. Holy Cross has been test-optional since the class entering in fall 2006, well before the pandemic-era wave of policy changes. Published middle-50% ranges of SAT 1240–1410 and ACT 27–32 describe only students who chose to submit scores, so they overstate the functional bar. Submit if you're at 1330+ SAT or 30+ ACT.
What GPA do you need for Holy Cross?
Holy Cross has not published GPA data for recent cohorts, so estimates range from 3.62 to 3.84 depending on the source. PrepScholar reports 3.84, Kollegio 3.80 and Admission AI 3.75. Plan against 3.8+ unweighted in the most rigorous curriculum your school offers. U.S. News rates GPA as "very important," with class rank considered where reported.
Is Holy Cross an Ivy or a "Little Ivy"?
Holy Cross is not an Ivy League member; the Ivy League has eight schools and Holy Cross competes in the Patriot League. It is sometimes grouped informally with "Little Ivy" liberal arts colleges because of its selectivity and outcomes, but that label has no official definition or membership list. The meaningful comparison is its #27 U.S. News liberal arts ranking.
What's the Holy Cross transfer acceptance rate?
Holy Cross does not feature a transfer acceptance rate on its main admissions data card, and aggregator figures for it are inconsistent. The reliable source is Section D of the college's own Common Data Set, which reports transfer applications, admits and enrollments. Note that spring entry at Holy Cross is generally limited to transfer applicants rather than first-years.
Read next
Jonas

Jonas is the CEO at Unive. Unive students were accepted at 3.48x the average rate and won $35.8M in extra scholarships in 2025. 93% of Unive students get into one of their top 5 college choices.
See more